Temporary Life [ 2005-08-15, 9:37 p.m. ]

I am now the proud owner of a temp job. It won't get me moved out of my friend's house but it will be a paycheck until I can find something of the bigger and better variety. And the small paycheck will help to replenish some of the savings I have been eating on. I got lost on the way to the interview. The lady at the temp agency gave me the wrong exit # so I found myself trying to follow directions that made absolutely no damn sense at all. They did make sense about four exits further up the highway and after talking to my third person trying to acquire directions that would actually get me there. Luckily, the interviewer had a sense of humor about it.

Him: You found us.
Me: Yes, apparently exit #s do make a big difference.
Him: Come this way. We'll chat.

Here he rambles quite a bit about the company, why the position is temporary and what I would be doing. Then he asks me some about my past experience and stares at my resume a lot.

Him: You have quite a bit of experience.
Me: Yes, I believe I do.
Him: You were told by the temp agency that this position offers no benefits and pays a lot lower than you left your
last job at?
Me: Hmmm...
Him: When would you be able to start? I am in quite a bind here.
Me: Monday... maybe earlier.
Him: You are over-qualified.
Me: Yes, I am.
Him: You are going to leave for a higher paying job.
Me: Well, this is a temporary position with no benefits. That could happen with anyone you hire. You are in a bind. I am in a bind.
Him: Great. I'll show you where you would be working. Introduce you to some people. Follow me.

He chats away as we walk. Shows me a couple of departments along the way. Shows me where my desk is at and
introduces me to a man with what appears to be absolutely no personality and will also be my cubicle mate. Mr. Zero Personality and Interviewer give me a peek at what I would be doing on a daily basis. The job is so basic that I believe they actually trained me while I was standing there. Then he walks me down to the last cubicle.

Him: This would be where The Director sits. But he's not here at the moment. I really did want him to chat with
you, too. Would you mind if I looked around for him?
Me: Not at all.
Him: Great. You could just wait for him up front then. You can find your way back up there right?
Me: Oh, ha. Yes, I don't think I'll get lost this time.
Him: Sorry, couldn't help myself.

I walk myself back up front (without getting lost along the way thankyouverymuch) and sit for about ten minutes. He comes walking in without The Director.

Him: It seems he's already gone to lunch so I'll guess you'll have to meet him later. I have one more interview in an hour. I'm sure I will be making a decision today or tomorrow.
Me: Okay, I look forward to hearing from you.
Him: Be safe driving back. You can find your way back out to the highway? Hee! Sorry. I'll have to stop wearing that joke out, won't I?
Me: Yes, now would be good.
Him: I like you.

Apparently, he wasn't lying. The temp agency called me two hours later so the next interviewee couldn't have even been all the way out of the parking lot before he started dialing them. I was late to the interview, basically told the guy that I thought his attempt at humor was lame and straight out admitted I would still be looking for another job if they hired me and I still got the job over the 1:00 interview. She must have admitted that she had been fired from fifteen jobs and had no intentions of ever showing up to work. So, I have a job until I can get The Job. Now I just have to find a new car because mine is behaving as if it is going to crap out on me and it isn't worth fixing. Ugh. I'm thinking that at this point I am going to have to find a temp car. Or just a really, really cheap one. Ah, well, who said the road to happiness would be paved with arrows pointing me in the direction of all things made simple? Besides, I'm sure it's all about the journey or some bullshit like that, right?

Okay, I'm off to dream in cliches.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
links
rings
reviews
extras
email
guestbook
notes
host
design